Shop Products
Houzz Logo Print
buildwithcapri

Quartzite Veins Turned Pink/Red

Hello, I am a remodeling professional with a K&B showroom. 99% of our jobs are Quartz, we carry many, many Quartz options, and our clients are generally OK with choosing a Quartz. We have recently been getting requests for natural stones, and we love to recommend Quartzite.

For my own personal kitchen renovation in 2021 (that is still not 100% lol) , we went with Vancouver Quartzite which is absolutely beautiful. The issue is, over time, the veining in some areas started turning pink, then red. We have watched it develop little by little with nothing we can do about it.

I’m almost positive there are no solutions for me to reverse this, but I figured I would ask.

Comments (35)

• PRO
    Capri Construction & Design
    Original Author
    2 months ago

The last photo of the island is the day it was installed. Here are 3 more photos, 2 of one of the slabs, and 1 of the piece that is the most affected pictured above, when it was first installed.

• chispa
    2 months ago

Wow, that is crazy! I wonder if it has a high iron content that has gradually oxidized and turned more orange. Was it sealed or did you apply sealer regularly?

A lot of the white/gray quartzites are hard, but still porous and they definitely need to sealed regularly.

Did you do any tests on the slabs before buying them? Read the Geology threads by karin_mt for information on the tests.

• chispa
    2 months ago
    last modified: 2 months ago

Here is an article by Karin.

https://usenaturalstone.org/definitive-guide-quartzite/

https://usenaturalstone.org/how-to-be-your-own-stone-sleuth/

If you are selling this stuff, you probably want to understand what your clients are buying, so you don't end up having to cover the costs of repairs/replacement.

Do you have a piece of your stone that you could do the tests on?

• PRO
    Original Author
    2 months ago